Ciao Bella!

3 12 2010

I’ve been reluctant to announce this, given the fact that anything can happen in a year.  Plans can change.  I’ve been reminding myself of that fact for several months now about approaching this.  If it’s God’s will, I’ll go.  If it’s not, I’ve been telling myself to accept it and find joy in His plans for me.

It’s always been a dream of mine to visit far off places.  To see the world.  To touch a building dating back to ancient times.  To photograph a foriegn culture.  And when I think of it, my heart swells.  My eyes get big, and my smile grows.  And I want to jump up and down.  And dance.  A lot.  And then I remind myself.  A lot can happen in a year. 

Well, time has pressed on.  As we near the end of the year, it’s no longer that far away.  With only months left of waiting, I’m starting to get excited.  I’ve told friends.  I’ve told family.  And now, it’s time to tell you. 

It’s hard to grasp that five months from now, Lord willing, I will be doing something different.    Standing on a land so cherished by many.  A new culture. A new langauge, a new memory.  To see things that I’ve only dreamed of seeing.  To cross something off my bucket list.  To take photos documenting a new world outside my own.  To leave my comfort zone.  And venture out on a new adventure. And  I can’t wait.  🙂

May of 2011, I will be leaving on a jet plane (I know, cheesy song reference) and I’ll be back two weeks later.  And I’m going to Italy. 

The thought nearly brings tears to my eyes. 

And I write to you today, not only to share in my personal joy, but to also invite you to come along. 

Be pampered, relax and soak in the stunning Tuscan countryside.  It’s an exciting vacation without the hassle of planning.  At $2,900, this all-inclusive price frees you from the time-consuming and sometimes frustrating details of vacation planning.  Especially when there’s a language barrier.  With this group tour, everything from your meals, to transportation, to tour guides and museums and accommodations is taken care of so you can relax, enjoy the scenery, and embark on the vacation of a lifetime. 

The Taste of Italy Tour 2011 will be from May 16-25.  From the Etruscans to the Romans to the Renaissance, Tuscany is possibly the greatest repository of art in the world, from extraordinary paintings and sculpture to frescoes and architectural masterpieces.  The Tuscany tour will include certified tour guides providing rich history of the fine are in Florence’s Uffizi, the Academia and the Pitti Palace museums.  Day trips will include exploring the extraordinary countryside in Chianti Country, Orvietto, San Gimignano, and Volterra.  (yes twilight fans.  Volterra.  Squeal!) Participants will enjoy the simple yet wonderful Tuscan cuisine and the cooking lessons taught by Italian cooks. 

Included in the price of each tour: sightseeing tours by local guides, including admissions to sites seen as a group; all breakfasts, lunches and dinners; mid-morning pastry and coffee, afternoon gelato, accommodations each night at the Avanti Italia Bible School facility, all transportation required for group activities from the first Avanti Italia School facility accommodations to the last accommodations of the tour (transportation for optional group activities and independent travel during the tour is not included); all local guides, driver, and transportation tips. 

The price of the tour does not include airfare and is subject to change.  However, your price for the tour you’ve selected will be locked and guaranteed the moment we receive your deposit.  The current price for A Taste of Italy, 2011 is $2,900.  Semi-private rooms are available at a rate of $3,500 per person.  The group will be limited to a maximum of 15 participants .  It is highly recommended that you send your deposit in as soon as possible to get your name on the list. 

For more information, or to make your reservation today, please email atasteofitalytour@gmail.com Or contact Marie Jones at 501-278-9081. 

I hope to see you in Italy!

If you can’t make the trip, or if you would like a little taste of Italy, I would also like to invite you to the Italian Cooking School to be held here in Searcy, Arkansas on January 3rd and 4th, 2011.  The cooking school will begin at 6:00 PM each evening and be held in the Harding University Heritage Cafeteria at 900 E Center in Searcy, AR.  The price is $50.00 per person and is in support of the Avanti Italia Bible School in Italy.  Please click on the link to learn more about Avanti Italia and the great work they do in Florence and the surrounding area.  To reserve your spot at the cooking school or to make a donation in support of the Bible School, please contact Marie Jones, 501-278-9081.

You can also find these great opportunities on facebook! 

♥ Cass